The ABC of Epic Fantasy: Y is for …

In my previous post in the series I wrote that I can’t think of or find any epic fantasy characteristic that begins with X, Y or Z so I’m finishing off this series with three aspects of my own trilogy.

Today, it’s Y…
In the Hyllethan Gifts Series, Y is for Yawra, a bodyguard who becomes an important minor character especially in Book 3, Night of Rites and Wraiths. Her main function is to protect the protagonist, Shael, and keep her alive despite all Shael gets herself into. As Yawra’s role in the trilogy gains importance, we learn more about her and her past.

Within a series, minor characters sometimes grow in importance. This is one way how epic fantasy tends to sprawl and often leads to epic fantasy novels having several point-of-view characters or short stories set in the world. In fact, in an early draft, Yawra was the focus of the epilogue, but that scene ended up being edited out. Maybe one day it will become the basis for a short story about the guard.

If you don’t wish to miss any of my ABC of Epic Fantasy posts, please Follow me on Instagram, through this blog or my newsletter: carolinesciriha.substack.com 

Dawn of Purple and Grey and Days of Wind and Snow (Hyllethan Gifts trilogy, books 1 & 2) are free through Kindle Unlimited. Night of Rites and Wraiths will be available through Amazon on 14th April.

#epicfantasy #epicfantasybooks #epicfantasynovels #epicfantasyseries #epicfantasybookseries #epicfantasyadventure #fantasybookstagram #fantasyauthorsofinstagram #kindleunlimited #kindleunlimitedfantasy

Leave a comment